Know who we are? is a moderating platform, for news, views, opinion and analysis on any subject under the earth.

We take pleasure in inviting you to write, speak up your mind, about any issue concerning the world, or the subject of your liking, or the expertise you possess to make a difference to the global society we are living, even if in a negligible way.

We are against spreading rumors and hatred. Here we speak about issues, about the people, the incidents, experiences, and much more… except the hatred.

For publishing on the, there’s no word limit.

It’s a platform that doesn’t takes into consideration race, colour, ideologies or political affiliations of the writers.  All are welcome!

One may be critical of other’s viewpoint, however, no spreading of abhorrence.

It’s a visual world, so photos are welcome and very soon we would start accepting videos too.

The users can initiate a debate on any issue. So make a beginning, hook up to and join us over issue-to-issue.

You can send your articles via the Whatsapp on +91 988 823 3348. A picture with the article, a photo of yours and a bio (60-100 words), would be appreciated.

Follow Me


Image Credits:
The Chief Minister of Sikkim, Shri Pawan Kumar Chamling calling on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, in New Delhi on June 15, 2016.


On March 5, 2024 the Chief Minister (CM) of Odisha, Naveen Patnaik completes straight 24 years in office. He was sworn in as such on March 2, 2000 and has been continuing till date uninterrupted. 77 years old Patnaik is also President of  Biju Janata Dal (BJD), the recognized State Party in Odisha. 

After researching and analysing official data in this regard the date of March 5 also happens to be the birth anniversary of Naveen’s father Late Biju Patnaik (actual name Bijayananda Patnaik- born 5 March 1916) who is  also regarded as Bhumiputra of the State and who also remained  CM of Odisha (then Orissa) twice (firstly 1961-63 and then 1990-95)

As on date, only one former Chief Minister in India viz. Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim, whose running tenure was 24 years & 166 days is ahead of Naveen Patnaik in the elite list of longest serving former Chief Ministers in the country. Late Jyoti Basu, continuously remained as Chief Minister of West Bengal for 23 years & 137 days 

Patnaik’s current fifth successive tenure as CM of Odisha is till May, 2024. Further if he gets re-elected  for record 6th time in upcoming Odisha Assembly General Elections scheduled in Apr-May 2024, then he would also surpass Pawan Chamling, former Sikkim CM who as on date holds the distinction of having remained the longest serving CM in India. 

As far as those CMs in the country are concerned whose total tenure remained more than 20 years although not uninterrupted, there have been three such viz. GEGONG APANG who remained as CM of Arunachal Pradesh for a total period of 22 years and 250 days followed by LAL THANHAWLA of Mizoram who total tenure has been 22 years & 60 days and then followed by VIRBHADRA SINGH who remained as CM of Himachal Pradesh for 21 years & 13 years though not in succession. 

The above list further includes name of MANIK SARKAR, former CM of Tripura with straight and total tenure of 19 years & 363 days  followed by Late M. KARUNANIDHI of Tamil Nadu, who remained as CM of the State for total four times with overall tenure of 18 years & 362 days. Then comes the name of PARKASH SINGH BADAL, who remained as Chief Minister of Punjab for a total of five terms and has got an overall tenure of 18 years & 350 days. 

Amongst the current CMs in India, after Naveen Patnaik with running tenure of 24 years, he is followed by Nitish Kumar of Bihar whose till date tenure is 17 years & 197 days. Then comes Neiphiu Rio of Nagaland whose tenure has been 17 years & 9 days.  The list then includes the name of N. Rangaswamy, current CM of UT of Puducherry whose tenure is 14 years & 272 days followed by Mamata Banerjee of West Bengal whose tenure is 12 years & 290 days. 

As far as PM Narendra Modi is concerned, he remained CM of Gujarat for straight 12 years & 227 days i.e. from Oct 7, 2001 to May 22, 2014, when he resigned to take Oath as 14th Prime Minister of India.

About the author:
Hemant Kumar

Hemant Kumar Hemant Kumar is a practicing advocate in Punjab and Haryana High Court. He raises the public centric issues

Related Posts

Leave a Reply